It Finally Happened….

It finally happened, I knew it would.  My day, my hour, my moment had arrived.  I was trapped.  Yep, I finally got trapped—stuck, completely stuck, stuck.  I am so stuck there wasn’t an inch I could move either forward or backwards. Lucky for me my body wasn’t trapped, just my car, but it felt like I was completely tied, bound with no scissors in sight.

You see, I decided to parallel park on the street yesterday afternoon, so I could give the back parking pad a good cleaning.  Lots of leaves,twigs, displaced mulch, and paper had blown in our yard this past month and my tipping point had finally come. In less than an hour I had the whole mess cleaned up and even learned that a neighbor is taking Cymbalta (see what happens when you don’t tie your garbage bags and let your stuff blow into others yards).

Feeling a great sense of accomplishment, I went inside, washed up, and headed out the front door to my car so I could rush to the office (although my day off ) to get a few other things checked off my “TO DO” list.  That’s when I saw that which made my heart flutter.  I had a Silver Cadillac on my rear bumper (literally) and a smaller red car  kissing my front bumper.  Oh man.  I, definitely, didn’t need this!

Knowing the owner of the silver caddy, I ran up his steps and knocked on his door. I knocked on his door for almost 10 minutes before deciding it was a lost cause.  I was just going to have to sit and wait it out. I just wanted to scream!!

Trying to regain perspective, yet being completely annoyed with my neighbors and (in the back of my head wondering if I could push their cars out of my way), I sat.  For the first 10 minutes, I was plopped on my front steps with my frustration brewing rather than being calmed.  Wanting to still accomplish something, I opened my laptop and began to work.  That is when an email, with this  modified Psalm appeared in my inbox.

The Lord is my pace-setter, I shall not rush.
He makes me stop and rest for quiet intervals;
He provides me with images of stillness, which restore my serenity.
He leads me in ways of efficiency through calmness of mind.
And His guidance is peace.
Even though I have a great many things to accomplish each day,
I will not fret, for His presence is here.
His timelessness, His all-importance will keep me in balance.
He prepares refreshment and renewal in the midst of my activity.
By anointing my mind with His oils of tranquility,
My cup of joyous energy overflows.
Surely harmony and effectiveness shall be the fruit of my hours for I shall walk in the place of my Lord and dwell in His house forever.  Amen.
Marian Wright Edelman, Guide My Feet, “The Nuns’ Twenty-third Psalm,” 1995, pp. 65-76

Who says God doesn’t still speak?  I definitely got the message. Closing my eyes, I gave thanks for this time to refocus, to reflect, and rest. And as I opened my eyes, the owner of the red car walked to his car and drove away.  To which, I let out a huge laugh.

This is how God refocused me for the week?  How is God refocusing you?

Leave a comment