Reading the Gospel of Matthew through Lent 2017

16998716_10158227136605517_154765895094275954_n.jpg

A couple of years ago, I started reading one gospel from start to finish through the season of Lent.  I did it for a couple of reasons.  First, I am horrible about not reading and studying Bible texts that I am not teaching or preaching.  I’m all in when it comes to learning and exploring texts that I will be talking about in public, but as for just exploring them on my own—yeah, not so good.   Second, I think you get more out of scripture when you read the books, prophets, and letters in their entirety.  I am excited to see again how Matthew paints a different picture of Jesus than we get in Mark, Luke or John.  To think and learn about: What connections does Matthew make to the first testament? What phrases are repeated? What ideas and stories does Matthew leave out that the other gospels include?

If you haven’t already decided on a spiritual practice or maybe you are looking for a second something, consider giving the Gospel of Matthew a read.  The readings are divided into short bits which shouldn’t take you more than a couple of minutes to read.  My hope is that you will be so drawn into God’s Word that you will feel led to dwell deeper in the text.

Blessings to you and yours this Advent season,

Jenn DiFrancesco

I would love to hear what catches your eye as you read this gospel, so please comment here or on Twitter (@revjenn)

One thought on “Reading the Gospel of Matthew through Lent 2017

Leave a Reply

