It was just a matter of time…

For the last 6 months, each person who walked into my office and saw my office clock would say, “Your clock is an hour ahead.” “Yes,” I would reply “I was just to lazy to change it and soon it will be time to change so I am just waiting” (Soon, as in 6 to 8 weeks).

Time seems to go so fast these days. I swear it was just the other day that I found a little red bump on my leg while sitting criss-cross applesauce in kindergarten and was sent home with chicken pox. I swear it was the other day that I was having braces put on. I swear it was the other day that I was in the blazing sun for hours praying for a water break at high school band camp. I swear it was the other day that I thought I met the guy I was going to marry—only to realize I was a few guys too soon. I swear it was the other day when…..

Time seems to pass incredibly fast. And yet, I can remember numerous times when I said, “I can’t wait till..” or “It will all get easier when…” Like there is some magic number or time when things will change for the better. As a child, I couldn’t wait for school breaks, then I couldn’t wait for college, grad school, marriage, kids, and now I am looking forward to retiring in another 30 years.

We are always constantly looking forward to the next best or important thing. Even now as I type this I am thinking about how things will be easier when tax season is over. But will it really? Or will something else just take its place? I am betting something else will take its place.

The clock on my wall is finally correct. A definite reminder that I should live in the present seconds and not in the past minutes or place my hopes in hours or days that might never come.

Leave a Reply

